Siedlungs- und Küstenforschung im südlichen Nordseegebiet ; 43.
Throughout human history, the northern German coastal waters and rivers have played a vital role in communication and the exchange of goods. Medieval written sources in particular report that in this area, it was possible to transport enormous cargos over large distances in a relatively short time, using both ships and boats. In this way, new areas for settlement were also opened up. With this background in mind, the nine studies collected in this volume address various questions regarding migration, interaction and communication across the northern German coastal areas. The volume focuses in particular on current interdisciplinary projects at settlements, landing sites and trading places of the 1st millennium A. D.and on their forms of social organisation.

The Bronze Age in Northern Europe was a place of diversity and contrast, an era that saw movements and changes not just of peoples, but of cultures, beliefs, and socio-political systems, and that led to the forging of ontological ideas materialized in landscapes, bodies, and technologies. Drawing on a range of materials and places, the innovative contributions gathered here in this volume explore the disparate facets of Bronze Age society across the Nordic region through the key themes of time and trajectory, rituals and everyday life, and encounters and identities. The contributions explore how and why society evolved over time, from the changing nature of sea travel to new technologies in house building, and from advances in lithic production to evolving burial practices and beliefs in the afterlife. This edited collection honours the ground-breaking research of Professor Christopher Prescott, and it takes as its inspiration the diversity, interdisciplinarity, and vitality of his own research in order to make a major new contribution to the field, and to shed new light on a Bronze Age full of contrasts and connections.

Også tilgjengelig som e-bok (kopier lenke): https://press.nordicopenaccess.no/index.php/noasp/catalog/book/89 . During the Late Bronze Age, the Iron Age and early medieval period (c. 600 BC–AD 1250) settlement at Vik in the Ørland peninsula emerged, flourished, vanished and emerged anew. Local landscape and vegetation development, cross-regional cultural developments and global climatic events were of great significance to the farmer-fisher communities at Vik throughout these periods. In this book, results from the 2014–2016 archaeological excavations at Ørland main air base have been refined and developed. The 13 papers deal with landscape, vegetation and environmental aspects related to the excavated settlement, as well as the spatial and social organization of the built environment. Building traditions, disposal practices, the form and representation of everyday objects, subsistence and landscape use are central to the discussions.

Katalogen er laget til ustillingen 'Fabelaktige dyr', Historisk museum, UiO. Biblioteket har også engelsk versjon.

ISKOS 23 med temanummer. Tilgjengelig i fulltekst her (kopier lenke): https://journal.fi/iskos/issue/view/7066
Burned fish bones are constantly being discovered in the excavations of Stone Age settlements in Finland. This abundance of fish bones, as well as the usual location of the settlements on the shore of lakes or the sea, illustrate the importance of fishing to the Stone Age economy. Added to this, examples of the fishing gear that was used, mostly made of stone, are also occasionally found in Stone Age contexts. Yet, despite the clear importance of fish and fishing in Stone Age Finland, the fish bones themselves have not been studied thoroughly before, although the diversity of the fishing culture at the time could be clarified by such analyses.

E-bok.
The concept of framing has long intrigued and troubled scholars in fields including philosophy, rhetoric, media studies and literary criticism. But framing also has rich implications for environmental debate, urging us to reconsider how we understand the relationship between humans and their ecological environment, culture and nature. The contributors to this wide-ranging volume use the concept of framing to engage with key questions in environmental literature, history, politics, film, TV, and pedagogy. In so doing, they show that framing can serve as a valuable analytical tool connecting different academic discourses within the emergent interdisciplinary field of the environmental humanities. No less importantly, they demonstrate how increased awareness of framing strategies and framing effects can help us move society in a more sustainable direction.

E-bok.
This book provides a systematic compendium with concise chapters on the concept and history of paleotsunami research, sediment types and sediment sources, field methods, sedimentary and geomorphological characteristics, as well as dating and modeling approaches. By contrasting tsunami deposits with those of competing mechanisms in the coastal zone such as storm waves and surges, and by embedding this field of research into the wider context of tsunami science, the book is also relevant to readers interested in paleotempestology, coastal sedimentary environments, or sea-level changes, and coastal hazard management. The effectiveness of paleotsunami records in coastal hazard-mitigation strategies strongly depends on the appropriate selection of research approaches and methods that are tailored to the site-specific environment and age of the deposits.

Heimar og folk i Sandeid er ei busetnadssoge i to band. Busetnadssoga handlar om folket som har budd i Sandeid, heilt frå gamal tid og fram til notida. Bøkene fortel om levekåra på gardane, bruka og husmannsplassa, med vekt på einskildmenneska i bygda.

Fra forordet: "Moesgaard Museum havde ved hjælp av forskningsmidler i perioden 2009-2012 muligheden for at gennemføre arkæologiske udgravninge af en lokalitet, som i forvejen var kendt af museet. Der var tale om en velbevaret landsby fra yngre jernalder ... Dette arbejde afsluttes foreløbigt med denne publikation. Udgravningerne har ført til uvurderlig ny viden om bebyggelse, landbrug og samfundsforhold i Østjyllands yngre jernalder".

Denne boken handler om hesten, slik den manifesterer seg i myter, legender og eventyr fra hele verden. Nesten i alle menneskesamfunn opp gjennom historien har hesten på ett eller annet tidspunkt vært vevet tett sammen med menneskene, sett opp til, beundret og respektert - som venn og hjelper, som gudenes dyr, som skaper og frelser i nøden, men først og fremst som vår uunnværlige følgesvenn. Hypp er en fantasieggende reise gjennom fire tusen år over fem kontinenter, noen ganger i rolig litterært trav, andre i forrykende galopp - og alltid ansporet av den nysgjerrighet og utforskende fortellerglede som er særegen for Tor Åge Bringsværd.

Tilgjengeleg også som e-bok (kopier lenke): https://hdl.handle.net/11250/2717111
Boken Kulturminnevern – kulturminneloven med kommentarer kommer nå i en ny og oppdatert tredje utgave. Den fanger opp rettsutviklingen de siste 15 årene og beskriver nyere rettspraksis og forvaltningspraksis. Boken er også utvidet med noe mer fagstoff og eksempler. Kulturminnevern er en sentral kilde for alle som arbeider med kulturmiljøforvaltning og miljøkriminalitet.

Kystpilegrimsleia er en St. Olavsveg fra Egersund til Trondheim med 26 nøkkelsteder som formidler historie og legender om helgener og konger, folk og land, makt og ære, natur og kulturminner og mye mer. Ei lita bok, men en stor og innholdsrik reise. Med egen båt kan sjøen bære deg fra nøkkelsted til nøkkelsted. Uten egen båt kan du dra av sted med offentlig transport, slik boka legger opp til. Du kan ta hele leia, eller deler av den. Målet er Nidarosdomen, men det er mange delmål underveis. Var Håkon den gode på Obrestad? Har Olav Haraldsson vært på Avaldsnes? Hvor gikk Olav Tryggvason i land da han kom seilende for å bli konge i Norge? Hva er Den norske hesten? Hvor danser heksene jonsoknatt? Hvor er kirka i Norge født? Hva er Norges dåpsattest? Kystpilegrimsleia gir svar.

Good storage is the foundation of effective collection care, advancing conservation while at the same time promoting accessibility and use. Preventive Conservation: Collection Storage covers the storage of all types of collections, including science, fine and decorative art, history, library, archive, and digital collections. It concentrates on preventive conservation and emphasizes a risk management approach. Reflecting the breadth of its scope, the new book is collaboration between The Society for the Preservation of Natural History Collections; the American Institute for Conservation of Historic & Artistic Works; the Smithsonian Institution; and the George Washington University Museum Studies Program.

In 2006, Claus Feveile published Det ældste Ribe, launching the publication series Ribe Studier. The goal of that series was to make the core archaeological evidence from excavations in the town of Ribe between 1984 and 2000 accessible to the scholarly world and to give an account of Ribe’s special status in the archaeological landscape of Denmark and northern Europe. Ribe 700-1050: From Emporium to Civitas in Southern Scandinavia is volume 2 in Ribe Studies. The main text here provides a comprehensive presentation and analysis of the archaeology of the town through to the end of the Viking Period. Alongside that, the book has a major topographical section which discusses West Jutland in this period and the connexions between Ribe and the hinterland of the town. In addition, a concluding chapter discusses the origin of towns in southern Scandinavia.

This is a book on the rise and fall of diasporic communities in Early Modern urban centers in Denmark and Sweden. It contains 17 chapters written by archaeologists, historians and scientists, ranging from in-depth studies of artefacts, biofacts and archaeological features to large-scale analyses of community formation among natives and migrants of multiple origins. The plethora of sources and approaches afforded by the numerous disciplines involved enables a significant new insight into the creation and recreation of migrant communities in these Early Modern towns.

I denne boken har Tor Åge Bringsværd lett og funnet i den enorme samlingen av fortellinger om hunden. Her er beretninger om hundens skapelse, om gudenes og om heksenes hunder, nyangafolket i Kongos beretning om hvordan hunden ga oss ilden, inuitenes eventyr om kvinnen som giftet seg med en hund, sagaens fortelling om hunden som ble konge i Trøndelag. Bringsværd henter stoff fra religion, filosofi, myter, tegneserier, filmer - fra alle verdenshjørner og alle tider. Her lærer vi om hundens mange talemål, om stjernehimmelens og eventyrenes og helvetes hunder, men mest av alt om det underlige samspillet mellom to dyr som har vandret ved siden av hverandre så lenge noen av dem kan huske - hunden og mennesket.

Bogen skildrer klosteranlæggets bygningshistorie på baggrund af talrige arkæologiske undersøgelser gennem årene. Der er tale om en grundlæggende fremstilling, der kildekritisk samler de forskellige undersøgelsesresultater til en helhed.