Skip to main content

 

As a UiS student you can access literature through different sources available from the University Library.
Remember that to have access, you need to be logged into the UiS network. If you are working from outside campus, you need to log in through a proxy server. For further information, visit the library's pages for Remote access.

Oria

Oria is the University Library's main search engine. Here you can find books, articles, journals, music, movies and electronic resources available at the library. If there is something you cannot find, please contact the library. By logging into your account, you can also view and renew your loans.

Databases

An academic database is a searchable collection of journal articles, reports and other information. The University Library subscribes to many relevant databases that students and staff at UiS can access.

Check out the complete list of all relevant Science and Technology databases available to you from the University Library.

Old Master's theses

Master's theses from previous UiS students are available from UiS Brage.
You can also find theses from other universities and institutions in NORA.

Google Scholar

In Google Scholar you can search for articles, books, abstracts or even theses. Some of the sources you find are available through databases provided by the University Library and can be downloaded in full text directly from the site.


Identify key concepts and alternative keywords

Check out Planning your search for more information on identifying key concepts and keywords.

 

Combining keywords

1. Phrase search

Quotation marks Meaning
"nanotechnology in medicine" Use quotation marks to search on a phrase

2. Boolean operators

Operator Meaning
AND Used to combine keywords

e.g. nanotechnology AND medicine
Returns hits where both words "nanotechnology" and "medicine" are included.

OR

e.g. nanotechnology OR medicine

Returns hits where either "nanotechnology" or "medicine" are included.

NOT

Used to exclude words from a search

e.g. nanotechnology NOT medicine 

Removes hits where "medicine" is included.

Truncation and wildcard

Symbol Meaning
Comput*

Using a truncation symbol will return searches for different endings,
such as Compute, Computer, Computation

The truncation symbol can vary for different databases (*, !, ?, $)

Organi?ation                           

Using a wildcard symbol is useful when you want to include both British and American spellings, such as
"organization" and "organisation"

Too many results?

If your search returns too many results, narrow your search by:

  • using the operator AND and include additional keywords
  • using more specific keywords
  • limiting the search by year, article type or other relevant factors
     

Too few results?

If your search returns too few results, expand your search by:

  • using more general keywords
  • including alternative words with the operator OR

Databases are different from 


 

  • Use keywords and not full sentences while searching in databases
     
  • Google provides only a part of the available information, as not all information is free to access
     
  • Databases contain academic literature, which has been more thoroughly checked and verified than information published freely on the Web
     
  • If you want to do searches outside the different databases, check out Google Scholar 

Need help?

  • Encourage your teacher to contact us and book a course for your class. 
     
  • PhD and Master's students can also borrow one of our librarians for an individual guidance session.

Google Scholar Search